Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Popular Actor Ram Charan on CNN-News18

ON SOCIAL MEDIA

 

Rajeev- Your fans are so active online, are you in touch? do you listen to what they are saying?

um are you listening to what they want from you? what they enjoy what they dont enjoy? are you on social media? are you aware of..

 

Ram- No, I am not on social media.

 

Rajeev- How do you manage to not be on social media? In todays landscape

 

Ram- I really dont know, I will start. I am looking maybe for a good day to launch my instagram or, I am not on twitter. I was on twitter then I blocked out

 

Rajeev- Why?

 

Ram- I know you have to keep commenting, but um in those earlier stages of witter you know you had, you felt you had the need to comment on things, otherwise they will think you are a coward

or you are not standing upto a section of people but later you realise that its your choice, you want to comment, you comment or you dont. yeah Iguess thats time

when i felt, I should comment but i dont know what will happen the next day morning. then i am like what am i doing with this lets just shut this down.

 

Rajeev- Its just an uneccessary.. I dont need his tension..

 

Ram; Yeah, so I guess i dont want to invite more but now my wife is on instagram so she has been wanting me to start so i will look for a good date and reach out to this larger section of audience as you are telling me

 

Rajeev- I am guessing it comes to you.. you probably hear about it from others, right?

 

Ram- I mean I..I get ahold of my wifes phone vert rarely

 

Rajeev- right

 

Ram- So when i do, I open her instagram and if she has posted anything about my films so i go through the mid and say please convey this to your husband so all these is very very lovely to see all those guys commenting.

 

Rajeev- Sure.

Um, Ram your father has been and the family has been entrenched in politics now. your uncle, I know its too early to ask is that something that interests you or is that something that you havent given much thought to public service.

 

Ram- Not really, Not really. I mean service can be done even outisde politics but no as a politician, I dont see myself. but maybe what we have experienced what we have seen personally. Its not such a smooth journey which I want to be in.

Rajeev- Right

 

Ram- Ya

 

 

WORKING WITH RAJAMOULI

 

Rajeev- Okay. Now the big announcement ofcourse recently was that um Mr SS rajamouli has signed a Jr NTR and you for his next film nothing is known about the film ofcourse except that it took the two of you to los angeles for something recently and that possibly it is set in the world of boxing

Ram- hmm.hmm

Rajeev- What can you tell us

Ram- As much as you know rajeev, I know the same

Rajeev- I dont believe, I dont believe you know nothing

Ram- No, No seriously

Rajeev- Give us, give us one nugget of information that nobody knows

Ram- Uh it will be a great multistar cast entertainer which we are gonna see in very.. I cant even tell you when ut will finish being Rajmouli's film

Rajeev- Thats true

Ram- I cant even say, I donmt even have a definite release date and we are yet to have a narration. I am leaving to bangkok in two days, I am back so we both together will be having the narration

end of the summer. That's all, end of may or end of june.

Rajeev- Is the boxing part true?

Ram-I don't think so, I can confirm that

Rajeev- you dont look

Ram- I can confirm that, I just said that

Rajeev- Thats' okay

Ram- No, its not boxing

Rajeev- You have done look test, so you must know something

Ram- Look test, no no get up or no costume its just us in deifferent angles, this is justs a test for

Rajeev- CJI?

Ram- Yeah its something to do with CJI, Its his part which i dont know much becauseI have not heard the narration yet. I really ready to hear the narration.

Rajeev- So you just signed on as i mean..

Ram- I said yes, its rajamouli and i had a blast with him working last time and i wanted to have that again. he is working with tarekh, I guess only the concept looks very challenging for the director and for us to be on the same frame

Rajeev- right

Ram- and satisfy both our small audience.. uh so thats what inetrests me, I think in the whole thing

Rajeev- This is sucha bug casting

Ram- Not only Rajmouli the younugstan and the director i said i am doing the film, i said when do you want to come and narrate he said give me 2-3months i am still working on the script. so last 3 films i have done i have never heard the subject and then said okay to them. I always said okay to them over a lunch, I said whenever you are ready let me know.

Rajeev- okay

Ram- So thats what

Rajeev- Fortunately they turned out to be good scripts, imagine committing to something and the get.. uhh oh dear i should have read this

Ram- Hope that day never comes

Rajeev- Now ofcourse the film with rajamouli is great casting because both JR NTR anmd you come such illustrious film family. are two of you friends, are you looking forward to work with him?

Ram- Absolutely, we meet atleast once in 3 months and we caught up recently on his anniversary its was so sweet of the couple to spend there anniversary at my house. So me and my wife hosted them.

I guess Rajamouli saw this bond and he thoughtit will be easier for him to do a multistarrer film with us than me with somebody

 

 

ON RANGASTHALAM

 

Rajeev- Ram congratulations are definately neede, your most recent film rangasthalam is doing extremely well and now 200 crores and counting and your fans have absolutely loved you in it. Thats interesting because the films been out for about 6 weeks now and the milestone are being continuing

 

Ram- Yeah its a rare thing for myself, I dont know but i guess a good film has a good run aswell and its truely, what you say overwhleming to see the response.

 

Rajeev- You know i should tell you this, your fans online really pulled me up online when this film came out

 

Ram- Really?

 

Rajeev- They pulled me up and reminded me of my review zanjeer a few years ago. I watch should watch ranagstaram and should stand corrected because it s sucha good film and sucha lovely performance.

So i am looking forward to

 

Ram- Your reviews are right, sometimes. Atleast my movies you were right, abosolutely right

 

Rajeev- w will talk about zanjeer but what i want to ask you ram is that your director sukumar apparently shot, insisted shooting the film in the villages of andra pradesh, he was very keen um to have that authenticity he didnt want to shoot the film on the sets in hyderabad. You have said, i read an interview in which you have said that one morning you went of one morning with a fisher man to work, you left your security behind and you went to ewatch the fisher man work and you have spoken about uh i dont want to give away, I want you to tell us that story. Um you have spoken about how that really changed you as a perspective to life, tell us

 

Ram- Yeah it was 5 days to my shoot in a remote village where almost tribles and adivasis stay and i was very happy my director took us there because it heped us build our character because i have never seen a village for more than 2 or 3 days so i didnt get the real essence of the village an character yet. There was a fisherman who kept on observing us while we are shooting so in the break i asked him what do you do? he said i fish so i said can you take me but i dont want any of my people, he said i will quitely come early in the morning with my boat just have one of your person come an take you to my boat and he took me into this 25 minute rideon his boat and he was fishing and he is like this how w catch early morning this is where the tourists dont come, the speed boats dont come and the fishes are happy and almost on the surface of the water and he caught alot of fish. And he had this bucket of water where he was putting all the fish and the rest he just threw them away and i asked him what happened and he said bas i will come for this bunch tomorrow morning i just need this. And then i felt really nice i extended the conversation hesays no this river godavari we really workship this as godavari thali, they call this as mother so they workship. So we should not take more than what we need so that innocence, that organic way of living i felt was very inspiring for me which infact helped me built my character around and how the people in the villages live way moreorganic and much more, uh the way they take care of the nature around them its so nice and inspiring for me.

 

Rajeev- Was this innocence that you were able to channel into the performance and into the character um that you think has helped people connect with chitti babu

 

Ram- Yes, i guess i guess not just to the character I felt that innocence has seeped into me personally as a human being and it was so easy for me to you now deal with epoeple, lots of things like which were not happening like any delays or anything just the change of certain attitude in me had made a lot of things happen for me in my life

 

Rajeev-when you went walked home , when you went back to the city you were a changed man, you were alot calmer

 

Ram- My wife says that even till now, I dont know I hope i retain this she likes about me now for a while atleast.

 

Rajeev- but do you see the irony in the fact that experience of making this movie put in touch with a simpler way of life and this movie goes on to be this massive money spinner

 

Ram- Just for you I wore a shirt and nowadays i am just on kurtas and my wife is pretty bored sheis like shit why did i tell hi that he has bevcome simple.. no no its just that we have so much more to do outside I like the wardrobe to be really simple so i have like 6 colours and i have like 2 of each and its simple just put it on and go and then wearing enough in films i guess

 

ON ME TOO

 

Rajeev: Your co-star Samnatha was trolled for a scene in the film where she kisses you on the cheek- its a peck on the cheek and all these trolls started saying how can a married woman kiss someone on screen? Do you find there are double standards in our society where because she is a woman- she gets trolled. No code of conduct for men but she  on the other hand gets trolled..

 

Ram: If tehy hd to comment on her, they should have commented on me as well but I am surprised. I guess this is what social media also does to you. You are sitting with your phone- you have 3 apps open.. at the touch of a  button you just have to write something nd everything going well- they don't like it. So there is always a flipside to these guys ho are commenting. So I can just laugh at them. But she was a dream to work with. She gets the best of yourself out when you perform with her. It has happened with all the actors who work with her. I am really fortunate that I got to work with her. 

 

Rajeev: Ram, the #metoo movement has gained a  lot of momentum in the west after Harvey Weinstein was exposed for having sexually harassed so many women over the years.. that movement is meant to expose this culture of sexism, misogyny, harassment that exists all over the world and film industries. Recently, telugu actress took to the streets in protest and got into a war of words with your uncle, Pawan Kalyan. How do you view that?

 

Ram: See, I am not talking particularly about her. But overall, to hear this word anywhere, in any industry - whether in politics or business industry- doesn't sound right to anyone. Nobody would encourage it. esp when I have 5 of my sisters in the same field, I would personally not want to pursue it or witness such a disaster in the industry. Coming to that, we have to always evaluate evaluate whatever we hear- whether it si from a great guy or a girl who is working hard in this industry. We acn't blindly go without trying to find any sense behind it. So, I guess this particular case has helped us form a committe in our industry to look into such matters. Now they are really looking into it to find out hwo much of this is true and if it is true, then serious action will be taken and that gives us comfort and sign of security that my sisters too can work in the industry because I'm not going to be with them always- they will have to be by themselves. So, there is  a committee now and I really want to take this issue to the committee to decide.

 

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe: